SSIG HomeUser RegistrationSelf Storage Snapshot™City FocusInvestor SurveySeminars & EventsArticle ReprintsSSIG In PrintLinksAbout SSIGInvestment SalesCushman & Wakefield Home

SELF STORAGE INDUSTRY GROUP
a specialty practice of
Cushman & Wakefield Western, Inc.
2020 Main Street, Suite 1000
Irvine, CA  92614
Tel: (949) 474-4004
Fax: (949) 474-0405
 

  
 
 

 

Cushman & Wakefield's Self Storage Industry Group (SSIG) is an international full-service real estate consulting team specializing in the self storage asset class. We have developed an econometric model to forecast the depth of market demand for self storage which has been used in over 100 major metropolitan markets and in all 50 states of the country. This expertise in a specialized asset class has resulted in key insights into the self storage market and in the publication of the annual Self Storage Investor Survey. The Survey details trends and conditions of the self storage market and highlights capitalization rates, financing and an optimism index. Market analyses and valuation models have been published by Mini-Storage Messenger magazine and their annual Self-Storage Almanac.

Technical experience of the Group includes over 75 years of cumulative real estate experience in consultation, valuation, and management. The scope of the practice has centered around complex valuation, data and research, market analysis and feasibility studies of the self storage asset class. Assignments have included property analysis in a value range from less than $1,000,000 to over $50,000,000 (portfolio) throughout the United States.
 

 
 

R. Christian Sonne, MAI, MRICS
Executive Managing Director
Irvine, CA
(949) 930-9241
chris.sonne@cushwake.com

R. Christian Sonne is a Executive Managing Director at Cushman & Wakefield and the Specialty Group Manager of the Self Storage Industry Group. An appraiser and real estate economist by training, Chris started Self Storage Economics in 2002 because of the growing sophistication of the self storage asset class and market demand for quantified self storage data and conclusions. Self Storage Economics became Cushman & Wakefield's Self Storage Industry Group in 2006.

Chris has a Bachelor of Science from the University of Utah, is a Member of the Appraisal Institute (MAI), a MRICS, and is a Certified General Real Estate Appraiser in the state of California, Arizona & Texas.

From 1993 to the present, Chris has been an independent fee real estate appraiser serving financial institutions, government and public sector agencies, industrial and commercial firms, the legal profession and the development industry. He has appeared and testified as an expert witness on valuation issues with the United States Bankruptcy Court (Central District, Los Angeles), JAMS (Judicial Arbitration and Mediation Services, Orange, California), Orange County Tax Hearing Board and Los Angeles County Tax Hearing Board.

From 1991 to 1993 at Bank of America, Chris was a Senior Appraisal Officer within the Commercial Appraisal Group in Los Angeles. His primary responsibilities included engaging, managing, and reviewing major income property appraisals in the Los Angeles Region. In 1990 and 1991 he was a senior consultant in the Valuation Group for Deloitte & Touche in Los Angeles, where he participated in valuation assignments for the international accounting and consulting firm, including litigation support, purchase price allocation, due diligence, and portfolio analysis. From 1984 to 1990, Chris was an independent fee real estate appraiser completing assignments throughout the Western United States.
 

 
 

Kristen M. Vander Veen
Director
Irvine, CA
(949) 955-7655
kristen.vanderveen@cushwake.com

Kristen has been a member of the Self Storage Industry Group since 2003. She graduated from the University of California at Riverside with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration. She is an associate member of the Appraisal Institute, and is a Certified General Real Estate Appraiser in the state of California. Her experience includes valuation and consulting services covering a wide range of property types: apartments, industrial, and retail. Kristen has specialized experience in self storage market studies that forecast demand for self storage throughout the United States, including Ohio, New York, North Carolina, Texas, California and Hawaii, utilizing the econometric demand model developed by the Self Storage Industry Group.
 

 
  Our international team also includes:
   
  Adrian Sanchez
Fort Lauderdale, FL
(954) 377-0450
adrian.sanchez@cushwake.com


Brad Rivers
Atlanta, GA
(404) 875-1000
brad.rivers@cushwake.com


Brit Chamberlain
Phoenix, AZ
(602) 229-5821
brit.chamberlain@cushwake.com


Crystal Beatty
Fort Lauderdal, FL
(954) 958-0803
crystal.beatty@cushwake.com


David R. Ubaghs, MAI
Stamford, CT
(203) 326-5877
david.ubaghs@cushwake.com


Dragana Anicic, MAI
New York, NY
(212) 713-6704
dragana.anicic@cushwake.com


Eamon D. Moran
Boston, MA
(617) 204-4182
eamon.moran@cushwake.com


Janet E. Sallander, MAI, CCIM
Rosemont, IL
(847) 518-3288
janet.sallander@cushwake.com


Jason Bitter
Kansas City, MO
(913) 440-0423
jason.bitter@cushwake.com


Jo Dance, MAI, CCIM
Phoenix, AZ
(602) 229-5933
jo.dance@cushwake.com


John Mako, MAI
Syracuse, NY
(315) 579-2206
john.mako@cushwake.com


Jonathan Lang
Irvine, CA
(949) 930-9211
jonathan.lang@cushwake.com


Kendall Winegar, MAI
Chicago, IL
(312) 470-1841
kendall.winegar@cushwake.com


Kate Spencer, MAI
Dallas, TX
(214) 558-9953
kate.spencer@cushwake.com


Marc J. Nakleh, MAI
New York, NY
(212) 698-5606
marc.nakleh@cushwake.com


Michael McNamara, MAI, MRICS
Fort Lauderdale, FL
(954) 958-0818
michael.mcnamara@cushwake.com


Michael Seetin
Washington, DC
(202) 739-0389
michael.seetin@cushwake.com


Michelle Swallow
San Jose, CA
(408) 572-4161
michelle.swallow@cushwake.com


Peter Lane
Philadelphia, PA
(215) 963-4031
peter.lane@cushwake.com


Tess Modster
Irvine, CA
(949) 930-9223
tess.modster@cushwake.com


Timothy D. Garey
Portland, OR
(503) 279-1787
tim.garey@cushwake.com


Oliver Close, MRICS
London, England
+1 (44) 20-7152-5156
oliver.close@eur.cushwake.com


 

Additional Information: info@selfstorageeconomics.com
Webmaster: webmaster@selfstorageeconomics.com

   
 
 

Site design and content © 2008-2012 C&W's Self Storage Industry Group.    
All rights reserved.  |  
Disclaimer  |  Privacy Statement